RESOLUTION NO. 2015-55

RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY A COMMISSIONERS OF NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA, PROCLAIMING APRIL 12 THROUGH APRIL 18, 2015, AS PUBLIC **TELECOMMUNICATIONS** NATIONAL SAFETY WEEK.

WHEREAS, April 12 through April 18, 2015, has been designated as National Public Safety Telecommunications Week; and

WHEREAS, the men and women of the Nassau County Sheriff's Office

Communications Division serve as an indispensable link between our Sheriff's

Deputies, City of Fernandina Beach Police Department, Fire Fighters, Paramedics, and

the public; and

WHEREAS, telecommunications undergo approximately 395 hours of

training in addition to Certification Exams to become certified through the State of Florida; and

WHEREAS, the telecommunicators who provide radio, telephone, and computer services to all of Nassau County's public safety units deserve to be commended for their dedication and professionalism; and

WHEREAS, each day hundreds of Nassau County citizens dial 9-1-1 for help in emergencies ranging from house fires, automobile accidents, and heart attacks, to crimes in progress; and

WHEREAS, the men and women who answer these calls for help, gathering essential information and dispatching the appropriate assistance, can often make the difference between life and death for persons in need; and

1

WHEREAS, Nassau County's 9-1-1 telecommunicators are a calm and

reassuring voice at the other end of the phone, who offer assistance to the caller until the responding units arrive on the scene; and

WHEREAS, because emergencies can strike at any time, we rely on the

vigilance and the preparedness of these telecommunicators twenty-four (24) hours a day

and three hundred sixty-five (365) days a year; and

WHEREAS, Nassau County owes a great debt to the men and women who,

by applying their expertise in telecommunications, help to make our County a safer

place to live; and

WHEREAS, during this special observance, we acknowledge that debt and

extend a heartfelt thanks to each of them.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, this 13th day of April, 2015, by the

Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida, as follows:

- 1. The Board proclaims the week of April 12-18, 2015, as National Public Safety Telecommunications Week.
- 2. The Board acknowledges and commends the following Nassau County Telecommunicators on behalf of all the citizens of Nassau County.

NASSAU COUNTY'S TELECOMMUNICATORS

Jacquelynn Adams Magan Collins Brianna Crews Ginny Earick Carie Gatlin Lisa Jones Susanne McDonald Marcelia Robinson Paula Stuart Tracy Williams Cindy Carter Shawn Conner Alexis Curtright Joyce Fisher Tammy Haya Grace Mason Cindy Moore Victoria Sharkey Linda Ottinger Peggy Wilson

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

PATEDWARDS

Its: Chairthan

STEPHEN W. KELLEY

TER J. B

DANIEL B. LEEPER DANIEL B. LEEPER Juni-DEORGE Y. SPICER

ATTESTATIION: ONLY TO AUTHENTICITY AS TO CHAIRMAN'S SIGNATURE:

A. CRAWFORD Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approved as to form by the Nassau County Attorney.

MICHAEL S. MULLIN